Because I play so many games, I encounter a large number and wide variety of game characters. However, I would have to say that my favorite character is one that has been with me for a long time. The character to whom I am referring was in fact introduced in my first video game, Sonic 2. That’s right, I am an avid fan of Sonic the Hedgehogs two-tailed companion, Miles “Tails” Prower.

Although continually playing second fiddle to the blue blur, this orange fox is highly intelligent and highly capable. When Sonic is in need, Tails flies in to save the day, literally and figuratively. Tails sometimes just carries Sonic directly, but when necessary he breaks out the Tornado, which is awesome in and of itself.

But I digress. The other major reason I love Tails is the possibility of Super Tails that exists in the combination of Sonic 3 and Sonic & Knuckles. After arduously collecting not just the seven chaos emeralds but also the seven additional super emeralds, Tails transforms from his usual self into a flying Juggernaut of destruction. More on Super Tails can be found in my Salute to Super Tails.

